Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been surf fishing for almost a 1 year now and I'm still new to it. And I'm still having trouble casting out past the surf. I havn't really gotten and salt water gear before because I don't know what good gear is.

For the last year I've used a 7' catfish rod and some kind of shakespeare reel(not that great) with 30 lb. line. With that I set up a steel leader with 2 hooks in the middle and a 3 oz weight at the bottom. Thats all I really know how to do. I've caught little reef sharks and a couple 70+ lb stingray thats it.

Should I go down to a lighter weight line for distance? What would be sufficient? I'm trying to catch good sized fish and sharks, so... I'm clueless on gear too. What is some good gear to get ex. Rod/reel?

·
Registered
241 Posts
I've been surf fishing for almost a 1 year now and I'm still new to it. And I'm still having trouble casting out past the surf. I havn't really gotten and salt water gear before because I don't know what good gear is.

For the last year I've used a 7' catfish rod and some kind of shakespeare reel(not that great) with 30 lb. line. With that I set up a steel leader with 2 hooks in the middle and a 3 oz weight at the bottom. Thats all I really know how to do. I've caught little reef sharks and a couple 70+ lb stingray thats it.

Should I go down to a lighter weight line for distance? What would be sufficient? I'm trying to catch good sized fish and sharks, so... I'm clueless on gear too. What is some good gear to get ex. Rod/reel?

for sharks and other big fish i would get a penn 9500, a 12' 6-12oz ocean master spinning rod and 65lb power pro.

·
Registered
4,346 Posts