Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
4,648 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
just curious what kind of line you guys use in the 17lb area.

·
Registered
5,739 Posts
I have a spool of Sufix Magic Touch in 20 lb that I've been using for a few years, but they discontinued it a while back. It's an excellent line though, if you ever see a spool on the shelf, grab it, you'll be glad you did.

Once that's out, I'm gonna get a pound of 17 lb test Tritanium.

·
Registered
24 Posts
line.....

Ditto on the Suffix Tri in 17lb. I also use Ande' Backwater line in the 15lb class. I had a set of scales one time and did a break test on these 2 lines. The Suffix broke on average @ 20-22lbs of pull. The Ande' broke on average @ 18-20lbs of pull.

·
Registered
4,648 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
i guess what i meant was anything other than suffix

·
Registered
1,217 Posts
all i use in the 17-20lb range is stren hi-impact, its cheap ($7.49)and holds up well in hard casting situations only downfall is its a little thicker than some others for its test, but its still pretty good to me...anything above 20 i use momoi from bayside, anything less than 17 i use Ande tournement...

·
Registered
4,346 Posts
Before I started using Sufix Tri, I used Berkley Trilene 17 lb. I used it almost exclusively for catfishing in the Chickahominy and James Rivers. I have always liked that line and still use it on some of my smaller rigs that don't get braid. You looking to switch line or something Neil?

·
Registered
2,594 Posts
Momoi Hi-Catch 20 lb (0.40 mm)
Cabela's Salt Striker 20lb (0.35 mm)
Berkley Trilene 15lb (0.37 mm)
Ande Premium 15lb (0.40 mm)

All of these lines will test out over 20lbs, but as you can see, some are thicker than others. Seventeen pound-test Sufix Tritanium Plus, by the way, micc's out at 0.41 mm, so it's actually thicker than the 20lb Momoi or the 20lb Cabela's.