Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7,062 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just read a report on the TidalFish boards about catching trout on chicken strips in the mid bay. One boat was using soft crab and the other boat was using Purdue Peelers. The score - soft crab = ZIPPO, Purdue Peelers = 4 tiderunners. Guess it's time to start preping for trout at the Tank. I just ordered 3 bottles of shedder oil from Oyster Bay & Tackle @ $5.99 ea. If you're having a hard time finding real shedder oil here's Oyster Bay's site -web page. Can't wait for the trout to hit the Tank.

Catman.

·
Registered
1,599 Posts
Your up early and your not fishing,doing honey doo's,they called me into work today and will be here till 4PM.Sence your an expert on trout when will they show up at the Tank and what side will you fish on.I wrote you a little something on the post below this one(Tank Rocks). :D TRIGGER

·
Registered
34 Posts
Hi Everyone

I'm new to the P&S boards but I've found a lot of great information already, thanks for sharing your knowledge. My question is how do you prepare the purdue peelers- cut um, hook um, what size hook, etc.

·
Registered
1,599 Posts
You start out first on buying some shredder oil and then you buy some chicken (boneless)breasts and cut them into strips,place the chicken into a zip lock bag and four or five drops of the oil,seal the bag and then marnade them over nite in your frig.I use a 3/0 circle hook for trout,just hook the chicken like you would a piece of squid strip for flounder(once or twice)and let wave on the bottom. :eek: Anglers bait shop on Rt.50(right side)just before Sandy Point SP Carries it for $6.00 a bottle,don't use alot of it at one time it will over power every thing and don't spill it on any of your equipment you will smell it forever. :mad: TRIGGER

·
Registered
680 Posts
i'm afraid i'm from the old school. i buy boneless chicken breast and shake an bake it. a little old bay helps the taste. :) :) :)

·