Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5,702 Posts
It has been a little slow because the water is so warm. I think there was a tournament in Murrells Inlet this weekend but I haven't looked into it. I'll make some calls tomorrow, I'm ready to do a charter myself.

·
Registered
17 Posts
I'm curious for any news as well, I'm heading down on January 5th, hoping to sneak some kayak fishing in behind Pawleys as well!

·
Registered
14 Posts
I'm a novice to saltwater, but love it. I expected it was all over by December. What is this winter trout bite? What water temps are we looking for; min/max? Surf, inland? I've got days at the end of the month with nothing to do, but would love to be fishing saltwater if it can be done this time of year.

·
Registered
17 Posts
By my understanding, the trout can be found in the creeks and marshes from December through February, if the temps don't get too low, like they did in 2018. I've fished the marshes in warmer weather, but have some free time, so I figured I'd give it a try. Last report was that the water hadn't cooled down enough for them to move into the marshes, but reading one article, it sounds like maybe the water has cooled enough?

·
Registered
5,702 Posts
I don't know much about Pawleys, but in Murrells they're starting to stack up on the jetties as of last weekend. Some are still being caught inshore as well. I recommend calling a couple of bait shops in the area. Most are honest as they want you to come back and buy shrimp from them for the next 10 years.

Last year we caught trout in Murrells all winter long due to the mild winter. It just depends on the bait situation and how cold it gets. When or if it gets too cold they'll push out of the shallow creeks to the deeper holes, creek mouths, jetties, surf, and even nearshore reefs. It's happening later than normal for a normal year but it has been anything but that.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #8