Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys, finally got my account straightened out, really like this forum. As the title states i'm a total newbie to surf fishing but am interested to learn. I'm new to South Florida, been here about a year. Prior to that very rarely ever saw the ocean much less fish in it. I've fished all my life in freshwater. I got tired of catching 2 pound bass so really got into trophy catfish 20-50 lbs. (catch and release). Was very successful in that endeavor but now i'm near the beach and i want to target some nice fish from the ocean. I could really use advice on poles, reels (although i like mine), line, bait and location. So far I've been out once with my 7' pole and tried some squid but that day i think it was too windy. It was very difficult to keep the weight stationary. I was using 2oz flat weights (it was what i had). It rained and it was drenched with no fish, i looked pathetic i'm sure. I did make some neat pole holders from pvc though. Oh yea, any ingenious advice on how to lug all the gear around. I was against a cart at first but may have to reconsider that thought. Anyway, glad to be part of the forum and hope hear some good feedback. BTW i'm in the Delray area. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Hey texan, I am an Okie. I moved here a few years ago and spent alot of time trying to make my fresh water gear work. I finally bought a penn fierce 6000 and put it on a 8 foot custom rod a guy gave me. I have have been bottom fishing from the juno beach pier. I tried the surf and it is fun but I have had more luck off the pier and you see alot more ppl catching fish. The biggest adjustment I have had to make is making myself use bigger weights. I have been using 3 to 6 oz weights and it makes things alot easier. If you are going to surf fish I would recommend at least a 9 foot pole.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·