Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I’m gonna be in Topsail this weekend doing some surf fishing. I plan on running 3 fish finder rigs and a hi low for bait fish. What can I expect to catch out there bigger fish wise? Fairly new to saltwater fishing and not really sure what runs at any point through the year.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Puppy drum is always a possibility, as are sharks, skates, rays.

When I first started surf fishing seriously I would do something similar -- 3 fish finders with cut/live bait, and a small rod for bait.

Now it's 4 rods running #6 circle hooks with fresh shrimp or fleas. I have caught more decent fish (puppy drum, black drum, nice pompano) on these rigs than I did in years of using fishfinders.

I only break out the fishfinders/larger hooks if there's a good chance of overslot drum or big blues, i.e late spring or late fall. Deer season and work (I'm a teacher) mean I haven't used my fishfinder rigs (they are neatly bagged up, just waiting), or even my heaver setup (it's hanging up in the rafters, just waiting) in years now.

·
Registered
8 Posts
If you are targeting bigger fish from shore at this time of year at TI then go to either New River or New Topsail Inlet. Drum (black & red,) blues, sharks & rays will be your target. Great knots and strong hooks are essential, especially if you hook into a shark.

Otherwise, go with recommendations from slosh, your favorite 2 hook rig with salted shrimp and/or fleas, fished in different surf zones.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If you are targeting bigger fish from shore at this time of year at TI then go to either New River or New Topsail Inlet. Drum (black & red,) blues, sharks & rays will be your target. Great knots and strong hooks are essential, especially if you hook into a shark.