Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As yall know I'm still new to this lure thing....

When using lures is it better to tie it directly on the line or use a snap swivel? I tied it directly on the line last week (caught nothing) but I had a hard time switching lures out with wet cold hands.

·
Registered
8,022 Posts
1mo, I have always tied directly to th lure but after reading post here an other sites am thinking of changing. One advantage is ease to switch lures an another is with a snap swivel that rotates it will eliminate line twist.For storm lures an plugs I think a direct tie would be best but for stingsilvers, hopkins etc. I am gona switch.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Then there's the HAWG that popped open the snap like it was made of licorice. Sad ending there.

Use a swivel without a snap.

Tie a loop knot. That way it is a LITTLE easier to swap out lures, you still get the advantage of a swivel, and you don't have to worry about the snap being the "weak" link in your terminal tackle.

·
Registered
264 Posts
snap swivel

I am a die hard snap swivel guy, but I have learned the hard way to make sure that you use the appopriate size, and always always make sure that they are the ones with the end that hangs over 90deg

shore

·
Registered
1,450 Posts
I like to tie on lures.

It became a habit at the advice of an old Bass Fisherman in Texas. My catch actually improved after losing the snap swivels.

I go back and forth here in VA Beach. At night I will use swivels if the wind is up.

Can't say if I am doing better or worse in these new Saltwater Digs..

Bob

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Now I'm really confused.....lol