Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting into surf fishing. I currently live up in Atlanta, but will be moving back home to Brunswick, GA as soon as my home sales. I'm looking forward to that slower pace! When I was younger I did alot of brackish water fishing with my dad, but it was always with dead shrimp, but I'm wanting to start surf fishing those parts (SSI, Jekyll, amelia island) and I'm really unsure of the the best setup for what I already have.

I have a 9ft 'hand me down' abu garcia medium action rod with a abu garcia spinning reel. The reel markings say it will take 300yds of 17lb test, up to 180yds of 25lb test. I've taken the reel completely apart, cleaned, and lubed it--It appears to work very smoothly. I have not put new line on it yet.

1)I'd like to target any/all eatable fish from the surf. Hell, I just wanna have some fun, relax, and hopefully put some meet on the table.
2)What would be the best setup for the combo I have given the area I plan to fish? Line size? Setup (larger version of the carolina rig? Hook type/size?
3)bait?

Also, I have 2 young kids that will be going to the beach with me a lot. I'm wondering, if I used circle hooks can I take my eye off the rod for minutes at the time? I read circle hooks set them selves? There is also a very good chance that my little girl will catch some blue crabs and I'm wondering if I can fish with those. I'm one of the tightest persons you will ever meet (not poor just tight with money), I'm always looking for the best bang for my buck. With that said, I know some may think that I need to upgrade my rod and reel, but that just can't happen right now. I've had my home for sale for 6 months now and with the housing market like it is right now, I may end up loosing 5 to 15 thousand dollars because I have to sell this thing! I'll be transfering back home Jan 1 2009!

·
Registered
19 Posts
Jody,