Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,038 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks, I'm just getting into yak fishing and would like some advice on what a newbie yakker needs to besides the yak.i will be fishing.

·
Registered
115 Posts
First question someone will probably ask you is what type of fishing are you planning to do.
This list could get long but a PFD is #1! Then a good paddle, comfortable seat, anchor, and a whistle.
From a safety stand point, always pre-plan your trip and share it with someone if fishing alone! Keep your cellphone in a waterproof bag or box!
Lots of folks have some type of crate complete with rod holders to store extra tackle trays and other essentials. Long nose pliers, Boga grip or fish grip, length measuring device of choice, and a landing net. Some carry a floating bait bucket and a small cast net to gather fresh bait when possible.
Check out "Professor Salt - Glenn Madden" on YouTube. He has some good videos with helpful info and this will lead you to other videos and sites for more help. I try to keep it simple depending on what I'm fishing for and where I'm at.

R/D

·
Registered
598 Posts
R/D covered it well. If I go anywhere outside of lakes, I carry a handheld vhf radio attached to my pfd. I would also recommend a paddle leash. I have been glad I had mine a few times.

·
Registered
1,038 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
How long should the anchor line be? Any tips on which PDF are fisherman friendly? How much weight would your typical bare bones fishing setup weigh?

·
Registered
115 Posts