Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to fishing the surf. Bought an inexpensive rod/reel combo in the fall- want to upgrade now. I want to spend about $200 for the reel for casting 1 to 5 ounce lures ,any suggetsions would be welcome.

Thanks,
Neophyte

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I LIVE ON LONG ISLAND. ON THE NORTH SHORE I WAS TOLD THAT A 9' ROD WAS GOOD , BUT ON THE SOUTH SHORE UP TO 11' WAS GOOD. I'LL PROBABLY SETTLE ON A 10' TO USE IN BOTH AREAS. I'LL PROBABLY WILL USE IT OFF THE JETTYS AS WELL. I'D LIKE TO GET A ONE PIECE, BUT WILL PROBABLY NEED TO GET A 2 PIECE FOR EASIER TRANSPORT. I'LL SPEND AROUND $200 FOR THE ROD PROBABLY A LAMI OR ST. CROIX.

·
Registered
830 Posts
Daiwa Emblem-X 4500 T on a Tica 10'6" rod.(UEHA632002S) You can get this outfit for around $200. I have a lot of equipment including G Loomis, Lamiglas and St Croix. I recently purchased this outfit and love it. I don't know if it will last as long as the more expensive stuff but it performs as well so far.
Just an option you might consider.

Tight lines....

Ken

·
Registered
2,256 Posts
Hey,neophyte- welcome to the surf fishing world! I'd suggest you consider the Penn combos; I've fished the Penn S/S series reels for about 20 yrs. and have never been disapointed with their preformance or reliability.I own just about every one from the 420ss that is on a 6' ultralight for fresh-H2O fishing and light action salt-H20 (great for Speckles) to the 950ss that switches from a Penn 6' heavy boat rod (that will reel in 70# yellowfin or 30# amberjack) to a 11.5'Finwick Big SurfStick. A 10' Penn Slammer surf rod with a 750ss or 850ss would be in the price range and will be a good reliable combo for years of surf fishing. Besides they're american made right next door in Pa.-BUY AMERICAN!!

·
Registered
3,387 Posts