Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'M NEW TO SURF FISHING. CAN SOME ONE PLEASE EXPLAIN THE PROPER WAY TO HOLD AND RELEASE THE LINE WHEN SURF CASTING. USING A 9 FT SURF ROD WITH OPEN FACE REEL.

·
Registered
2,630 Posts
iT'S SORT OF A NATURAL thing.Grab your rod"firmly"with both hands,right hand on top.Twist your body 90 degrees to the right.Jiggle the rod so it starts to swing,not too easy , not too hard.Just at the right time(you'll know when)flick the face.That will prime it for release.Angle 180" to the left.Now very hard now sling it to the left and lift your grip.If you see the big weight flying over the breakers you have been successfull.Hope this helps. the R

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks, but still don't understand. i'm alright with the mechanics, but don't understand how to hold and release the line. i tryed holding the line against the handle of the real and releasing with the cast, but can't cast 3 oz weights, can't hold the line. what is the proper teqnuiqe for holding and releasing the line.

·
Registered
186 Posts
PAPPYD,
You hold the line as you would on any other spinning (open faced) reel. Grasp the rod with your right hand on top, depending on the size of the reel you can put the reel stem (part that connects reel to rod) between you're ring finger and little finger or leave your right hand completely above the stem. It just depends on what is comfortable for you. Regardless, pick up the line with your first finger, flip the bail over and cast as normal. BE SURE to LOCK DOWN THE DRAG. This will prevent the drag from slipping during the power portion of the cast and keep you from cutting your finger. Also as Big Bro said, try to find somebody near you as this is much easier when you can see whats going on.
Tight lines and popped riggers

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7