Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've looked for a good video that shows the different types of casts used from the surf and I've been unable to find one. Most of the good videos focus on just one cast, and the Hatteras cast isn't seen much at all. So I took my camera to the field this week and made my own.

I recorded the Fishing OTG (not a full-rotation, tournament cast), the Hatteras and the Uni-Tech. I didn't have time to do a full instructional video, though that might be my next project.

Surf Casting Styles

Comments and suggestions always appreciated. I'm not a professional caster, but I like to think I have passable form :p

Evan

·
Registered
3,822 Posts
to me it looked like you loaded the rod the most when using the Unitech cast. Im pretty sure you probably got better distance with that cast also. I have found that the Unitech is the best cast for me 99% of the time. The beaches I fisher are never flat, and normally have wind blowing. So any ground cast or swing cast seems to give me isses with time. If I'm wading out the I would use my version of a hatteras, but other than that it's mostly Unitech for me.. What type of distance are you getting with each using the Baseball?

·
DISTANCE CASTING SPONSOR
3,349 Posts
Good video Evan.

That's a unique version of the Hatteras cast. A little pendulum action thrown in.

The HC is a funny animal, MANY different versions out there. I go for a simple toss back and then turn and hit with the same uncoil fundamentals as the groundcast.

It's good to see different clips.

Tommy

·
Registered
2,397 Posts
for me.
bait on sand , 6 oclock.
aim fire. never misses, never misfires, no turning, or swinging, no bs.
xD

never been a fan or hatteras or brighton.

·
Registered
2,276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·