Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,
New to the board. I know the striper are out of season right now...but I've read that April can be a good month for shore fishing for striper as long as you catch and release. I wanted to know if anyone fishes the lesner bridge va beach this time of year? Good baits/lures in that area? Good times to go (high v. low tide), weather? I'm going striper fishing out of anapolis maryland next week and kinda got hooked from that. Any extra advice on tackle or gear for a new striper fisherman would be greatly appreciated? I'm a poor student too so cheap advice would be great!

· Registered
417 Posts
Seven foot spinning rod and a selection of 3 - 4 inch Storm lures will get you started. Add some 1 to 2 ounce leadhead jigs and some Bass Assassins if you got some money left. Either tide works, but I prefer the outgoing. Either side of the bridge works, but I prefer the boat ramp side. Cast the lures at the bridge pilings and work back at different speeds. See Mike or Darvin at Lighthouse Tackle on Shore Drive, they fish the place almost everynight. Give me a call for more information.

Ric
757-289-5136

· Registered
283 Posts
Outgoing is better

But when you cast up to the pilings stand up toward the boat channel. I say this because THe tide rips out and if you stay right next to the bridge, the current will get you hung on a piling. Another good tip is use power pro. This cuts throught the tide a little better so that your baits will sink a little faster. GL and tight lines

· Registered
5,554 Posts
snag monster is gonna get you...bring lots of tackle...its part of the fun...good luck...try 2-4 oz... and try the back side of the current...inside in...out side out...hope this helps...

· Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
thanks for the help!