Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I,m new to this board and would be interested in hearing some opinions on St.Croix surf rods Thanks in advance.

TAP

·
Registered
4,327 Posts
A couple of questions:

1. Where do you plan on fishing? Surf,
inlet, bay?
2. What species do you plan on targeting?
3. Bait or lures?

I have a 8' St Croix Tidemaster that I use for fishing the Indian River Inlet (IRI) in Delaware. For this type of fishing I use 1/2-2 oz lures. It also works good in the surf for tossing those 2 oz Stingsilvers for blues or stripers. ;)

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
THanks for the reply. I plan on fishing from the surf mainly for drum. I have two of the premier casting rods from St. Croix and they seem to be very good just wanted some input on the surf rods they offer.

·
Registered
374 Posts
The old Ben Doerr line of St. Croix surf rods are nice. Own 3 of them. The 7' (favorite), 8' and 10' all spin models. Very light and capable of achieving great distances. You might want to consider the Medium Heavy and Heavy Power rods for drum.

The Ben Doerrs and Ben Doerr Elites have been replaced with the Premier Surf and Avid Surf this year. Most of the rod blanks are identical to the Ben Doerrs with a couple of new blanks introduced this year.

·
Registered
3,387 Posts
They do make a heaver 8-n-bait but most people that fish for drum Go for Custom rods built on All-Star, Breakaway, Outcast or Lamiglas. Tica has a good Budget heaver, as does Pinicale. Some times while Drum fishing you need to toss more tha 8 and a bait.

·
Registered
2,630 Posts
So what is the bottom line?If you had to buy a new rod for drummin ,unless you were going to fish the point,you would go with a brand not custom rod?Someone mentioned the sealineX as a excellant choice.What do you guys think? the R

·
Registered
3,387 Posts
The rondel the sealine-x is not a heaver. A nice surf rod though.