Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, Everyone.

I'm Jim - and I'm new to fishing this area, but not new to fishing... ;)

I'm interested in doing some evening fishing at Sand Point State Park, and I'm curious what type of rigs and bait would be recommended - and what type of rod/reel and line.

I have a nice Salmon rod, 9' with a medium action that's designed for 10-20lb line, to throw a 1/2 to 2 oz lure or bait. This should be OK for the type of fish in the area, shouldn't it? What do ya'll recommend?

I have one of the baitfish rigs that includes 6-8 small lures, which is intended for getting small baitfish - but I read in the Maryland regs that more than 2 hooks is not allowed - is this exempted for baitfishing or not?

Thanks in advance for your help - and I look forward to seeing you on the jetty... :cool:

Jim

·
Registered
374 Posts
welcome to the board. :)

When baitfishing, you are allowed up to 2 hooks and not more. The only time you can exceed 2 hooks is if your lure came equipped that way in the package.

·
Registered
4,322 Posts
SPSP jetties are the place to fish lures - especially early morning in the Summer. Use topwater plugs (Floating Rapalas, Mirrolure Top Pups, ZaraSpook, Rebels, etc.) and cast the lure to stripers and blues that are feeding on baitfish. This is the key - follow the baitfish as they boil on the surface. This means packing light with one rod and a small lure box. A small rod of 7' or 8' with 12-15 lb test works great casting those 1/2 to 2 oz lures.

I also use metal lures on the jetties to catch fish that are not herding baitfish in the early AM hours. Favorites are Stingsilvers (with bucktail teaser), Hopkins spoons, and Krockadyles.

Lures rule! :)

·
Registered
4,457 Posts
Jim,
for night fishing at Sandy Point you will want to soak bait (bottom fish).