Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3,821 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got to SPSP by 11am, had lines in the water by 11:30am. Left at 2:55pm..

Caught:

24 spot
3 3inch Croakers (released)

And only used a half bag of bloods.. :)

·
Registered
1,513 Posts
I see you stocking up ...I need to get out there and get mines

·
Registered
3,821 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Im just getting started. those spot will make great bait sep-nov..

·
Registered
1,240 Posts
how will these make good bait months from now, when less than days old bait from OC shops (including ones that are favored here) suck? seriously.

·
Registered
69 Posts
I was a SPSP last evening from about 7pm till 11pm. Caught about 3 dozen fish evenly split between 5-6" spot and 6-7" croaker. All went back swimming. I was using 2 rods with top & bottom rigs and 1 rod with fish finder. Bait was BWs and FBBW. Both saw the same action but I did notice that I had more successful hookups with the FBBWs. After the sun went down was when the action picked up. Could only handle keeping two lines with bait in the water at this time. Guy next to me did get about a 15" blue.

Lost 4 rigs during the evening. I thought I knew where all the snag monsters were. Apparently I found a new one.

Mosquitos started to lightly munch on me after dark. nothing a little bug spray couldn't solve.

·
Registered
4,322 Posts
how will these make good bait months from now, when less than days old bait from OC shops (including ones that are favored here) suck? seriously.

I think K-Man is intent on salting the bait and freezing them (vacumn packing) for the Fall run and large drum at AI...

Ain't that right K-Man? ;)

Sandcrab

·
Registered
3,821 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I can't speak for everyone elses bait.. I gut my bait then salt it... among other things it works for me.. I have used fresh bunker on one rod and my salted spot on another and the spot does AT LEAST as well as the fresh..

·
Registered
3,821 Posts