Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm getting ready for my first year of Striper fishing off of the beach. I am looking to buy a spinning reel and a 2 piece rod(small car). All in all I am looking to spend around $150 or less since I am just beginning and not all that well off cash wise. I was wondering what you guys could recommend for the task. I don't want to end up with a piece of crap, if 150 isn't enough, please let me know.

Thanks for any help in the matter :cool:

·
Registered
597 Posts
Hi Sear,
Welcome to the forum. Where do you plan on fishing? Either way from the beach I would suggest at least a 10' and even better a 12' rod. I am partial to the Okuma solaris as well as the ocean master line of rods (although I don't own a OM, just have seen it in action). While the OM is fairly expensive the Okuma IMO is easy to throw and is reasonably priced. I also own a 10' Diawa Sealine X rod which is very good also.
As far as reels are concerned I have a Penn SS reel and a Diawa Emblem XT. I really like the Diawa as it is lightweight, easy to cast and reel.
I had just started surf fishing this season as well and I recieved recommendations from this board and I have been very pleased with the purchases.

In my opinion you choice of rod and reel is really what you want to get out of it. You can buy a really expensive or cheap setup but you can always find a place and time to catch some fish. Knowing how to throw the setup is very important. Distance and safety are key!

·
Registered
223 Posts
I have a good friend just getting into casting, and with the help of lots of people more knowledgeable than he or I, he's planning on getting an Okuma Solaris 12' and Daiwa EmblemX5500T or 6000T. The two together should run just under about 200.