Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,920 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Maybe this belongs on the Boating forum, dunno, so move it if need be Mods.

Anywho, I'm in the process of buying some spear-fishing gear as I had a blast last year out at the Light Tower pegging some Spades. It's rather exhilarating diving down and harassing those feeshies. I will admit the Pucker Factor can red-line when spying large, ominous shapes gliding below the school. :eek:

So to my question. When do the Spades show up in force doing laps around the Tower? We hit 'em good in mid-June.

I'll post up for some "Ho's" that want to become bait when the boat set's sail this summer.

Talk to ya'll soon!

Skunk

·
Registered
2,467 Posts
I'm no expert spade fisherman, and I've never been spear fishing for them. I go whenever I get an invite, and it seems like June is when we usually go as well. If I had some spear fishing gear, I'd love to try it out. I've fished for them more at the fourth island than I have at the CLT, but hopefully I'll be able to try them more at the tower this year. Most of my boat fishing was offshore, or in the bay last year. I don't even think I stopped and fished the tower one time in 08. Looks like spear fishing would be a good time. I used to get upset when we pulled up to the tower a little late, and divers would have red flags up in a spot I wanted to get to!!!LOL Guess if you can't beat em, join em, right? Hopefully somebody else can give you some better info. on the spades. Skunk, what all would I need to pick up to get started spear fishing. Spear gun, face mask, fins, what else would I need. Where do you guys buy your gear, and can I get started without breaking the bank..

·
Registered
1,920 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Skunk, what all would I need to pick up to get started spear fishing. Spear gun, face mask, fins, what else would I need. Where do you guys buy your gear, and can I get started without breaking the bank..