Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,261 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Fished the outgoing on the west side bar from 0500-0630. Did manage 1-3lb. Bluefish, but that was it. Don't know if it made a big difference, but there was a lot of grass (almost every cast) & very little bait in the water. I think the biggest thing was a extreme lack of fish. Oh well, mark it down as paying dues, still not a bad way to start the day.

·
Registered
8 Posts
I was out there too. Didn't catch anything. I am new to fishing, but I have been watching this website since just after I started. I usually fish a harrisons pier with bloodworm and a bottom rig, I am very new to using lures and plug. still haven't cought a thing yet on anything other than live bait. I usually knock croakers and roundheads out at Harrisons, (even a few strippers, and black drum), but I just cant seem to get the artifitial bait thing down. I gotta be missing something. I have tried everyday for about a week and lynnhaven inlet and chicks beach under the cbbt. nothing. Can somebody give me some pointers.
I am still also trying to figure out the tides (as far as when the fish should bite) :confused:. I have been using Bucktails, rattle traps, and gotcha lures (of course white with red tip) Nothing seems to be working. I don't know if it is me, or i am just in the wrong place at the wrong time.

·
Registered
500 Posts
To work the artificials, you need to impart action to the lure. Erratic action will help trigger strikes. The gotcha should dart side to side if you are doing it right. The others raise the rod tip and let it fall in various rhythms and patterns until you find what works for you. Also, the areas you fished can be more hit and miss than fishing off a pier.

·
Registered
72 Posts
bcusic46,