Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I'm new to this site. I am heading to Portsmouth Island in a few weeks, and have a question. I am new to surf fishing, and have been reading about shock leaders. I was on the island back in may, and used 20Lb test main line, carolina rigged to a 50 lb. leader, and had no problems, untill the blues showed up. My question is this, what is the purpose of the shock leader? i have moved up to 25 lb. test main line for this trip, with 50 lb. leader. Back in may, we did have a strong wind, and I was throwing 8 0z. at times just to stay in the water. Does the shock leader help with handeling, and throwing the weight? Seems the whole set up would be only as strong as the main line, when fighting a fish. If someone could explain the purpose i would greatly appreciate. Thanks, and tight lines!

·
Registered
1,306 Posts
I will try and explain this to you. A shock leader is more for protection of your self and others around you. Most of my surf fishing apllications I use 17 lb main line and then a section of " shock leader is tied directly to that running line. This section of shock leader needs to be two lengths of your rod and then about five wraps around the spool of your reel. This is extra protection from breakoffs. The general rule is that you use 10lb of shock leader per ounce your are throwing, for instance if I am using a 5 oz wieght I will us 50 lb shock leader and 10 lbs an ounce. %0 lb shockleader is about about as high as I go even with throwing 8 oz

·
Registered
98 Posts
I'll give it a shot: