Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so I'm relatively new to this and I've got most of my setup but now I'm lost with the leader stuff. I know I need a shock leader and I was planning on using something like 60#. My questions:
-Is the shock leader supposed to be made from the same stuff as regular leader material? I'm planning on using flourocarbon for my regular hook leaders, but it can get kinda expensive if I'm gonna use 60# Seaguar as a shock leader.
-What do you all use, do you use regular mono as a shock leader and flouro for you're hooks and rigs?

BTW, I just bought my setup of a Tica 12' and a Daiwa Emblem X5500A. So is 60# shock recommended for shock leader? I've already spooled up with some Berkley IronSilk 20#.

·
Registered
8,022 Posts
Hey Itsme,I use 20# suffix/berkley but for shock I use 50# ande/sea striker. Ya don't need ta go higher than 50# IMO.Unless ya lookin fer Jaws. :D

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
so i guess then that there really is no need for the shock leader to be flourocarbon?

·
Registered
712 Posts
no you don't need to use flourocarbon as a shockleader.besides being too exspencive it's
too stoff to cast.just stick to ande like cdog says.

·
Registered
8,022 Posts
Hey itsme like Mark says I wouldn't see th need for it. However for casting lures to say spanish I would use it for that.

·
Registered
766 Posts
Cdog is right about the spanish and flouro.

This is how I rig shockers for various fish.

Sea-Mullet and small bottom critters, I use 30# Trilene Big Game clear, hand tie my own rigs with 30-50# clear depending on if blues are around, and use 1/0-4/0 circle hooks.

Spanish, for thrown 1.5-2oz lures, I use 20# Trilene for the main shocker, and about 3' of Stren 20# Flourocarbon leader, tie direct, no snaps.