Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone ever tried topwaters around marsh banks and shallow rocks in the lower eastern shore with sucess?How do you fish water thats less than 5ft deep for Stripers in the fall in the Chesapeake w/o a boat?Do you look for baitfish,surface activity,or just blind casting?And,what are the most fishable plugs to use?Also,whats the best time?I've never done this style of flats fishing before?

·
Registered
8,390 Posts
Look for Structure....Pilings...old pier....pile of rocks. I bring 2 rods...one rod for small plugs and mirro lures and another fer grubs and Storms.

Alternate your retrieve and use a fluro leader.

·
Registered
3,141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok;But where to try?You got lots of area in the Maryland Chesapeake Bay from Hooper Island to Crisfield.Where is a good place to start.Im thinking about trying around Deal Island.Would be cool to get a bonus Speckle or Redfish while trying for Rockfish.

·
Registered
4,335 Posts
Ok;But where to try?You got lots of area in the Maryland Chesapeake Bay from Hooper Island to Crisfield.Where is a good place to start.Im thinking about trying around Deal Island.Would be cool to get a bonus Speckle or Redfish while trying for Rockfish.