Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thinking I may be able to use this rod and reel offshore in NJ at some point,more likely I would Surf or pier fish in New Jersey With my Beachmaster or Surfmaster,I was offered a trade for the Garcia ,heavy 6’6”,”Conolon “rod it’s on for a 10 ft. Rod that may work as a surf rod for either two smaller Penns,I don’t have any specs on it yet,,I’ve done surf fishing in NJ but I’m a fairly rank amateur to any salt water fishing style, The values and equipment I’m also learning,So how much could I expect to pay for a Senator worthy rod to replace the present one it’s on,I am assuming the Garcia is a boat rod for trolling due it’s shorter length? And how much is a decent surf rod,casting, and is there a real big deal as to its length,10’ compared to 12’ and longer surf rods,I’ve heard of? I had fun with an 7’ cheapo and a budget open face spinner before,probably would have been chewed and spit out by anything of consequence,I did catch a bony kind of critter with fins that looked like wings but would like to be better prepared next time! Any help and hints are appreciated.

·
Registered
24 Posts
i have been offshore fishing with penn 6/0's for over 20 years and have had many a person tellme they can't handletuna etc. well i have yet to see that.

·
Registered
71 Posts