Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So after a couple weeks of forum reading, I decided to head to Sandbridge beach for my first attempt at surf fishing. Being that I'm new at this, I'll err on the side of too much information and trust the community will point out any glaring mistakes. I was looking for red fish.

* I arrived just before low tide, about 1:00. Goal here was to better understand the bottom and to fish the incoming tide.
* 2 Rods - One was a large spinning real on a surf rod, and the other was my trusty curado that I use for bass fishing. I set up the surf rod with a fish finder rig on 10# braid with a 50# mono leader, number 7 circle hook, and 8-10oz of weight. Bait was a huge fresh mullet that I cross cut into sections about an inch thick. On the curado, I alternated between a 1oz spoon and a white bucktail.

After figuring out how to cast the spinning reel with all that weight (I just about sliced my finger off a few times), I loosened the drag and put the rod in a spike. I kept thinking I had a fish with the wave action bouncing the tip around. A few times the line would actually start moving out. It was either the surf or smaller fish. Sometimes half the bait would be gone, but nothing ever took the hook. I was so intent on not missing a fish that I only made 4-5 with the curado.

So needless to say I didn't catch a fish.

There were two people within a 50 yards of me on either side, and neither of them were catching either. One was using shrimp, and I'm not sure about the other guy. Talked to a couple of people on the way out who where fishing off the pier. One caught some small black drum and one caught a small ray.