Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
going to try for cobias for the first time ever. will be fishing from the pier could anyone recomend a good rod for this??

·
Registered
7 Posts
Yo bros, Im no expert but I use a 10' Hatteras Heaver and and 2- 11' Ticas to fish for cobia and kings. good luck this season this will be my second season and still no cobia, the pierlocals say you have to put in your time day and night. :D

·
Registered
547 Posts
i fish off of buckroe and grandview for cobia, because they consistantly produce the most fish. there is a little bit of everything being used out there, but the most common is a good ol penn 320gti on a penn stick. you can get the combos at wally world, etc. thae are aboput 150$ for rod and reel. if you want a good reliable reel that can take a beating, and also makes a good trolling reel, the 320 is hard to beat.

tight lines

·
Registered
239 Posts
I use shorter rods on a pier, heavers on land. Shorter rods are better on a pier for weaving through everyone who has'nt pulled their lines, better for leverage too. A good cobia (pier) rod should be 4.5-6.5 ft, good flex, with enought a** to turn a 70 pound fish when he runs for the pilings. They will try about every time, and once wrapped, they realize you can't pull them up. I think the rod should be a hybrid: stiffer than inshore, lighter than offshore, like a rockfish troller, but castable. I'm not good with names. The lightest 'stand up' rods, with no roller guides are good. I have a Penn oceanmaster (45$) and bigwater ugly stick (65$). I bought a couple graphite ugly sticks for flounder/trout rods to double up if I feel lucky. They are light enough to feel a flounder nibble, yet will lift 60 pounds if needed. I use 30-50 pound braid for dual use. I hope this helps on the pier. I love Ticas in the surf.

By the way: Where can I get ticas without going to NC?

·
Registered
8,022 Posts