Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all. As stated I am a remote worker seeking a move to FL, primarily due to my fishing hobby. Boating isn't a financial reality for me, so I'm looking at areas with easy access to great pier/surf fishing in addition to kayak fishing. My ideal is to be able to ride my bike/walk to the pier.

I have extensive experience in areas that I cannot afford; Ft Lauderdale, Saint Pete, and Miami. With a 250k housing budget- seeking to be as close to the pier/surf as possible- where would you be looking? Am I basically priced out of FL coastal communities in the current market?

Can't do condo's, only interested in single family homes. Literally 1 bed 1 bath is fine.

Thank you!!

EDIT: Should also add that I am single, schools aren't important to me.

·
Registered
705 Posts
during the Pandemic, you need to add at a MINIMUM of $500,000.00 to your budget (and no, I'm not kidding).
or - lower your "standards" to way down to the "un-desirable" neighborhoods.
where are you now ?? can you take a road trip down to that area to explore your options ?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
during the Pandemic, you need to add at a MINIMUM of $500,000.00 to your budget (and no, I'm not kidding).
or - lower your "standards" to way down to the "un-desirable" neighborhoods.
where are you now ?? can you take a road trip down to that area to explore your options ?
Hey John,

Thank you for your reply. I'll be in the St Pete area soon to visit friends. I am certainly able to visit areas on both coasts.

I definitely don't have high standards. I'm fine in a manufactured home as well (I have friends in St Pete and can get out of dodge quickly during a storm). I've been working class my entire life, so, it's all that I know.

·
Registered
705 Posts