Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello again everyone and thank you for the welcome! As I posted in my intro, I have some 7000C's I fish with. But after throwing a Blue Yonder, I am considering those reels. I have no experience with the magnetic realm but am now very interested in learning about this. A few questions to those who know and wish to share their knowledge...1) Can the old (20 plus year old) 7000C's be converted to mags. 2) If so who does the best job? and will those converted 7000's be as nice as the Blue Yonder or a 6500 mag reel? Keep in mind, its for casting and fishing pompano...Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Cerberus, can you elaborate more as to why the penn 525 mag and Diawa Slx-20/30 are the go to reels. Most pompano guys I see fishing use Abu's of all types. Not to say I do not see the penn mag or Diawa reels, but its got to be 8 or 9 times to one for Abu to the others. From my personal experience, the blue yonder I threw was better than the 7000C's I have converted with level wind and brakes removed. I have not thrown the penn mag or Diawa. With the converted 7000C's I also have to be a little more careful of a backlash than when I was throwing the blue yonder.

·
Registered
854 Posts
The "go-to" standards for pompano down here are the Penn 525 Mag and the Daiwa SLX-20/30SHA's.
Have no clue as to your location Cerberus. But useing a 525 is like useing truck winch for Pompano or Whiting.:eek:
The Locals and Com. guys here in N.E. Fla. that fish from Playalinda to L.T.I. use a 5500 or 6500 or a 15# mono class Spinning reel.:beer::fishing:

·
Registered
506 Posts
Jensen Beach

I see very few Abu's on the beach, even though I own a couple myself.

The most common reels in anyone's hands are spinners, but when I see a conventional it is almost always a Daiwa or Penn.