Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm coming down today and staying for a couple of days in a cottage near the Food Lion in Nags Head. Would love to catch a few pompano while there. Bought some sand flea and shrimp flavored fish bites and have some pompano rigs and light surf rods (light 9 footers). I have a small beach cart I can pull, but no 4wd. Can anyone tell me a good place to access decent pomp fishing off the beach?
Also was wondering if the wide bend (kahle style) or circle hooks work better on pomps. I've got a few rigs of each type, but have never caught but a few pomps, so any advice is appreciated.
Thanks in advance for any leads. I'm a newbie and can use any help I can get.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Garboman. Anywhere in particulat we cna park and walk to the beach?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Garboman is right, it is dependent on the wind direction and water clarity. It is worth a shot at checking the water before you get to Avon, ramp 30 is a good starting point, its open to foot traffic only to the north so that will deter a lot of people from fishing there (you won't have to walk as far). Ramp 55 can be crowded so I'd recommend you go early so you can find a spot close to the walkway.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #7