Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone use circle hooks along with fleas for the pompano? If so what size do you use?

Or do you guys like J hooks with the sand fleas?

·
Registered
2,214 Posts
bigshark88
I use # 2 circle hooks along with fleas for the Pomp's . With the circle hooks I think they can get at the flea a little easier.
T<--->--<>Kozlow

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Koz, I am headed to Wal-Mart right now! I will try to rip it up wade fishing on Saturday. Hopefully I will be able to post pics.

I am new to circle hooks so sizes will always be helpful. :)

·
Registered
2,214 Posts
bigshark88
Will be looking for the pics
Check your PM

T<--->--<>Lines
Kozlow

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Anyway gang- I just got back from Wal-Mart
I already own the usual grubs/jig heads for the trout as well as the DOA shrimp

At Wally-world tonight I picked up another classic gold weed-less spoon, an in-line gold spinner with a white plastic trailer, two Mirro-Lures (a red headed/white bodied “classic style” and a trout colored Top Dawg). I also got circle hooks in 2/0, 4/0 and 6/0. A pretty good haul!

Okay Kozlow, this will reveal my stupidity. What is the difference between #2 and 2/0 circle hooks? Another thing, I got Owner 2/0 “SSW” style hooks and now they do not look all that “circular” anymore! I think that I am jammed up with “J” hooks with offset eyes.

Anyway you look at it, I think I am geared up for some Reds and maybe some trout if the rain has not chased them all way off into the ocean. If all is dead, I will move from the “sweet” brown flats water to the salty bluer stuff to chase down the Macks and the Pomps. This Saturday is going to be a blast!

PM right back at ya Kozlow

·
Registered
2,214 Posts
bigshark88

Courtesy of
Waldo "Double Treble" Tejera. Islamorada Sport Fishing Online contributing writer.

"What’s In a Hook?"