quick question, I am new to the pier and surf fishing but looking on
line at the spinning combo's what is a good pole length for say pier or
surf fishing in Myrtle Beach area ??

Thank you:fishing:

·
Super Moderator
3,417 Posts
Hey Beady, welcome to Pier and Surf!

You will probably get a lot of opinions on this one, but I use 10' Cabelas Salt Strikers from the surf and 8' rods from the pier (I have a couple of 8' Pinnacles and one old Pfleuger that I like). Some of the folks who fish more regularly down there than I will probably jump in and give you better advice. If you're just starting out and don't want to sink a lot of money into it right away, BPS down there offers an inexpensive combo (last time I was down there it was a Daiwa) that would be great for "starters." As I recall, it was a 7-footer with a single-bearing reel. I believe it was $19.99 or $29.99 prespooled with line.

I hope this helps!

Good Luck!!

·
Registered
579 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Pole

I am on that BPS website right now lol...I see they have a 9ft MH on
there for a combo that looks like me..haha. I am in cold NY right now
and will order one up as we have none of them Stores around here..Thank you
very much.:)

·
Registered
579 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Pole

Just retired from 30 Years in Army so my frame is tired haha.
I am not a large fella so I can handle a 9 footer fine, and I will
be fishing for whatever bites my bait and if you kind people can
help me do that this May I appreciate it. Long way off but I
am looking forward to surf and pier fishing and catching something.

I read about the Got-Cha plugs and shrimp and mullets and
will learn alot before I get there, But I am reserved for May 16th-30th
and excited as all hell.......:D

·
Registered
1,157 Posts
I am 5'6 and 140lbs wet, I can heave 8nbait on my 13 footer just fine. but 125grams, on the twelve goes much farther.:D

·
Registered
282 Posts