Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone ever fish the Patapsco? I live in Elkridge, MD and have been wondering about that river...Thanks!

campNfish

·
Registered
7,090 Posts
I've been fishing that river since 1950 for SM bass & cats so I know a little about it. :D The river just about ran through my back yard. ;) I think I've fished every inch of that water from the Viaduct North to Daniels and back again. ;) Anything in particular you want to know other than my favorite 1/4 mi. stretch where the bubba SM bass live. :D

·
Registered
59 Posts
I've fished Avalon a few times this year. Even if the fishing is off it's still a pretty nice place to walk around. And it's like a 5 minute drive which is nice!

·
Registered
7,090 Posts
The stretch of river between the old Avalon Dam and the swing bridge up stream is still good wade fishing for SM bass.

·
Registered
546 Posts
I used to live in Ellicott City for a while and fished all along that section. Yea...super smallmouth water on ultra light, got some big ass 'gills, the odd left over trout, carp in the pool above Daniels dam. We used the railroad tracks as a trail and water access. I met a few wiley fellas fly roddin' for carp up there too...superb under rated water and gorgeous to boot!

·
Registered
759 Posts