Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
this is my first time on the board for awhile............

here is my question..... besides of bait.....

if you were fishing the surf, not at the (point) in n.c. or in a crowd of fishermen, and the 50lb. big fish were in front of you about 100 yds. out.. you were tied on and cast out and hooked up with a 50lb. drum!
what is most important?
1) line, knots, hooks?
2) reel?
3) rod?
in my opinion line and knots, and hooks, are most important in the catching, (and releasing), of big fish.
the reel comes second--- ability to play a fish---handle his runs----and land him.......
the rod comes last....you can catch a huge fish on an oak branch if you got a good reel and line!
so why do good rods cost more than good reels? cant figgure it out.

·
Registered
3,872 Posts
I'll give it a partial shot. Most important would be the knots, weak or bad knot, AIn't gonna hold, second would have to be the line, won't take much of a "nick" in it for a decent fish to break the weakest link(s).

Now as to the rods, certain rods toss certain weights of lead better than others (sweet spots) which helps maximize the casting distance under differring conditions. Light lead because of no wind minimal currents where four ounces would hold will cast better on certain rods, which, even though may be rated for 5 - 10 ounces of lead may "best" handle six ounces of lead and bait.

Depends on the backbone of the rod (my OM 11' 5-10 ounce rating cast the 6nbait better than 8nbait, but can handle 10nbait, so for those rods 6 ounce of lead seems "optimal", got one that 4nbait "optimal" and a couple, well just like to have the rods in the water. If you can't cast to the fish, you can't catch them.