Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am a novice surf angler with all my experience limited to either Emerald Isle or Oak Island for summer vacations catching smaller fish. I am currently planning a trip to the either Hatteras or Ocracoke in April and need some recommendations on gear for targeting the larger Reds. I currently have 2 9' setups one rated to 4oz and the other 6oz. Whenever the OBX is mentioned, guys are always talking about throwing 8 and bait. My question is a rod capable of handling that much weight necessary to be successful there? I have been considering a new longer setup but it would be nice if I could choose a rod that would be more versatile.

Thanks,

·
Registered
608 Posts
Welcome to the forum! To answer your question regarding a 8 and bait rod being necessary to be successful at catching big reds, no not ''necessary'' at all, just another tool to have if 8 oz. is needed. Your 6oz. rated rod will throw 8oz. in a pinch if needed, granted not as well as a rod rated for 8 plus oz., and yes a longer rod will generally give you some more distance if needed. There are many rods available with versatile ratings. Spinning or conventional?, and as I have mentioned, distance and ratings are just another tool, the fish can be right in front of you in the suds, good luck,...pop.

·
Registered
262 Posts
Depends on what your definition of larger reds is. If you are talking about Slots then you should be good with what you have. if you are looking for 40+ inchers then you should be looking at a rod you can throw some weight with. I'm not saying you couldn't catch a big one on the rods you have now, but for the most part you won't be able to get to the big ones. Also i've seen many days where 8 OZ won't hold good.

·
Registered
106 Posts