Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all-

I'm a newbie to the forum and to the sport as well. I got "hooked" after spending an evening/morning at Matapeake and the next afternoon at Sandy Point. But I think what did it for me was the 3 nights at the OC Inlet while watching 5 30"+ stripers and 2 24"+ sea trout get pulled in (I think that would hook just about anyone).

As a newbie I have tons of questions; therefore, in the coming weeks I will be spending lots of time on this forum either lurking, reading and even writing. Since I am in the MD/DE section I figure I start with this question:

I am interested in fishing for striper, blue, croaker, perch and flounder... what would you all say is the best area at SPSP to fish?? My friends usually fish on the beach crescent/point (not sure what that area is actually called) farthest from the bridge but to the right of the small rock jetty and the small launch area.

Also, I've been using some homemade hi/lo rigs (4' long 60# clear mono with 2 dropper loops and crane swivels at each end) ... should I be using something different for the fish mentioned above?? If so, what should I use differently?? Please try to be specific or even better please provide a picture of the rig. Most of the rigs and knots I've been making I've been fortune to have seen on other sites or tackle shops.

Thanks, until next time... tight lines to all.

·
Registered
2,752 Posts
V,
Welcome to the forum. I think your friends are pretty familiar with the "location", we ususally call it "Near the small boat launch area":D
Anyway, you should be able to catch most of the ones you mentioned (I have not catch a flounder yet). Right now, there's perch for you, but others have slow down this past week.
As for rigs, I use the ones from Walmart (too lazy to make one). Hope this helps..

·
Registered
592 Posts
Welcome to the forum,