Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody, first post here! I need some tips on catching bigger fish from the surf. I have very little experience with surf fishing. I fish beaches in South Carolina, but have only done so a handful of times. I normally just catch small fish like spots and croaker. I’ll be heading down this weekend to do a little fishing and I want to target some bigger fish as well. Any species really. Anybody willing to help a newbie? Thanks guys!

·
Registered
5,640 Posts
Start fishing cut bait and live bait to start catching the predatory fish. There are tons of sharks and bluefish to be caught along with some red drum, though most of my surf redfish have been bycatch when using sand fleas or shrimp. One of the last blacktips I hooked was on the head half of a croaker. Fought him up to the pier and had to break him off. Wish he would have bit through my 100 lb mono.

·
Registered
335 Posts
I fish the suds with fresh bait. Use 3/4 oz egg sinker with bead and barrel swivel. Tie 4' clear line and sharp hook on other swivel spot, usually #2. Toss just past the suds and let the waves do the work. Slowly reel now and then. You would be surprised at what bites in shallower water. My other pole a 2 drop rig. Practice tying them yourself. You will get better results. Also jigs with hair and bait work in the suds too. Have to read the water and not be afraid to try and do something different. Plenty of videos on YouTube to help you learn. Good Luck...….
Kim🎣

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for all the responses everybody. I think Imma run 2 double drop rigs for smaller fish and a fish finder rig with maybe a 5/0 or 6/0 circle hook with cut bait.

·
Registered
5,640 Posts
Thanks for all the responses everybody. I think Imma run 2 double drop rigs for smaller fish and a fish finder rig with maybe a 5/0 or 6/0 circle hook with cut bait.