Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to saltwater angling, but not new to the beach. I would likt to start fishing the south jetty in MI, using artificial baits(i.e. , spoons, plugs, plastics) as I want to keep my gear to a minimum due to the long walk out from Huntington. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
5,796 Posts
Bucktails will work for about anything, even more so if they're tipped with either shrimp (whiting, croaker, trout, ect) or a strip of baitfish (flounder, drum, ect). PM me if you need any help getting some great bucktails.

If you like plastics, get a few Saltwater Assassin Sea Shad (paddle tail grubs), in Glow/Chartreuse tail and Silver Mullet, and some DOA CAL Series Shad Tail grubs in Electric Chicken, Rootbeer/Chartreuse Tail, and any others that catch your eye, those are just the most common must have trout colors. They'll land trout (winter trout), flounder, drum, weakfish (summer trout), and a few other species though if blues are around they ruin the expensive bodies fast with their teeth.

If you have money to spend, get some Gulp! in natrual, new penny, or white pearl shrimp, and swimming mullet in green chartreuse and white pearl.

Use them on a rounded jighead with a saltwater hook. 1/4 oz - 1/2 oz, you may want 5/8th oz or higher if the current is bad. The rounded head doesn't get hung as often but you will lose tackle fishing at a jetty.

Popping corks work good and you don't lose them unless you're set really deep. You can fish the grubs/Gulp on them or live bait if you decide to.