Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all - I'm new to MD and am looking for a few starter spots. I'm interested in most freshwater fish (for now)...not really into carp fishing. I would love to find some great bass/panfish spots and would love to catch some big cats, too (without having to go to potomac)

I live near BWI so I'm looking for places pretty close. I don't have a boat but do have a car topper that I plan on using in Tridelphia once it opens up. For now I need some starter spots for shore fishing and/or wading.

I don't mind a little bit of a hike and don't mind getting dirty. So far I'm going to try out:

1- Little Patuxent on the Patuxent Research Refuge
2- Little/mid Patuxent near Savage Park

I've heard recommendations on a few other places but none of them came with instruction on where to park et cetera.

If anyone feels like sharing their knowledge with a fellow angler I'd certainly appreciate it!

·
Registered
4,564 Posts
If you need any trout fishing info for Western MD, drop me a PM.

Sandcrab

·
Registered
1,594 Posts
Generally speaking to can glean a lot of information about where to park by examining locations on a site where you can switch to an aerial or "birds eye" view. Check out Google Earth or Bing Maps. Look for paths leading away from parking lots towards the water.

The down side to this approach is that you're most likely to find the areas that are fished the hardest, so the fish could be either all gone or spooky ... but it's a good place to start. After you're there you'll be able to observe others to identify the better holes. Good luck!

·
Registered
4,390 Posts
Generally speaking to can glean a lot of information about where to park by examining locations on a site where you can switch to an aerial or "birds eye" view. Check out Google Earth or Bing Maps. Look for paths leading away from parking lots towards the water.