Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to surf fishing and long distance casting. i have a Abu Garcia Blue Yonder 7000 reel and am looking to buy a rod to put it on. I interested in fishing for Bull Drum and Puppy Drum, but I cant always be there when they are running, so I would be fishing for whatever is biting at the time I am there. I have decided to buy a Carolina Cast Pro Rod because of all the great reviews I have read. So far I haven't found any negative comments on any of the fishing forums about these rods. My question is what would be the disadvantage of me buying the 13' 8-12 instead of one of the other lighter rods? I plan on buying other setups later, but for now need a rod for this particular reel. What are your recommendations?

·
Registered
41 Posts
I can't answer your question specifically but I just got the 13 8-12 to match my akios 757 and love it so far for a dedicated 8n bait in not so calm surf.
I'm also thinking about my next set up so I'll watching this thread.

lh

·
Registered
787 Posts
There is no disavantage per say but the real question is what weight do you anticipate using the most? Leadhead looking for another rod? The 4-8 all day by far my favorite rod I've ever owned I can't say enough about it. If the man gave me one rod to use for the rest of my life I would grab that with out a doubt. So versatile would have no problem zipping 4's for mullet pomps and pups then popping on a 8 and slinging for drum.

·
Registered
1,327 Posts
+1 on the 4 to 8 oz 12'8 it is also my favorite. If I could only have one rod for bait fishing that would be my choice paired with a penn squall 15. Nothing against abu's penn's just my preference for sand.

·
Premium Member
3,349 Posts
KW,