Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found a new project today along with some Mitchell spool cases,the reelisa bit rough but Ivan straighten it and beatify it a bit,maybe catfish and surf fishing,what do you think for a 10 spot?
Automotive tire Wood Gas Automotive wheel system Auto part

Automotive tire Material property Wood Gas Table

Wheel Automotive tire Bicycle part Tire Rim

Wheel Automotive tire Vehicle brake Wood Rim

Hood Motor vehicle Automotive design Wood Musical instrument

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
As there’s not much I could do with pitted plating so I removed it on the crossbars .I mean,I’m sure I could get all new metal but not sure it’s worth it! It does work like a charm and everything inside is clean and lubed ,not a lot wrong inside just old hard grease and the bent foot,funny very little wear ,I mean ,to me,I’m no expert reel repair guy this is only my second Penn rebuild ,but things looked ,not new ,but very little used inside,while the plating is beat.Now I gotta get another new rod,dang it!

Attachments

·
Registered
70 Posts
it's always worth ten bucks. where else can you get a few hours entertainment that cheaply? If you feel good about full disassembly, soak all chrome in white vinegar over night. it will eat the verdigris. Rinse, lube, reassemble. carbon drags are cheap at Mystic parts and you're out under 20 bucks with a reel that'll go another 20 years. You're correct- replacing all crossbars can get expensive. Looks like plastic spool version version; if so load 50-100 yards of dacron or braid backing if you are going to cast mono. Mono will stretch, then compact, and blow out plastic spools. I've built north of a hundred Surfmasters, Baymasters, Jigmasters, Squidders, Beachmasters. Love 'em. Lemme know if you have any issues or questions.

John

·
Registered
113 Posts