Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There are so many options for reels it's a bit overwhelming. I have a 12' Shimano Speedmaster rod rated for throwing up to 10 ounces. I'll be using this on BaldHead Island for anything big. Last year we caught some good size blacktips. I was using my spinning stuff but want the distance a conventional offers.

The Penn Fathom II seems to be a good choice but from what I can tell, going small on the reel isn't a bad thing. The videos I've seen show these massive rods paired with much smaller conventional reels. Would a Fathom 15 Casting Special be a good choice? Would a size 30 or even 40 Fathom be too big and cost me distance?

Any help would be greatly appreciated or any other suggestions for reels that can throw heavy stuff a good distance.

thanks ahead of time................Fish Tank

·
Registered
5 Posts
There are so many options for reels it's a bit overwhelming. I have a 12' Shimano Speedmaster rod rated for throwing up to 10 ounces. I'll be using this on BaldHead Island for anything big. Last year we caught some good size blacktips. I was using my spinning stuff but want the distance a conventional offers.

The Penn Fathom II seems to be a good choice but from what I can tell, going small on the reel isn't a bad thing. The videos I've seen show these massive rods paired with much smaller conventional reels. Would a Fathom 15 Casting Special be a good choice? Would a size 30 or even 40 Fathom be too big and cost me distance?

Any help would be greatly appreciated or any other suggestions for reels that can throw heavy stuff a good distance.

thanks ahead of time................Fish Tank