Pier and Surf Forum banner

My F250 Dual Front Receivers

4K views 21 replies 4 participants last post by  Catch This 
#1 ·
I am going to start this out by saying I am not a professional welder, mechanic or fisherman. However, I want to build a 72x30" rack for the front of my 01 F250 and I certainly did not want to use a single 2" receiver. I have spent many days scouring the internet for ideas on where to mount the receivers. One requires removing the tow hooks and the other required bolting to the tow hooks. Bolting to the tow hooks was not an option for me because the hooks are at funny angles and I did not want to spend 2 days fabricating. I also wanted to leave my tow hooks on the truck and functional. Here are the only two setups I found:

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
I decided that if I mounted receivers on top of the crossmember the rack would put my coolers in the sweet spot between being too low and blocking the headlights. It took a bit of time to line up the receivers, tack weld, check the alignment then tack weld more. I had to use these receivers which are 1 1/4" to 2" adapters because on the driver side a 2" receiver would not clear the transmission cooler lines.

Attachments

#4 ·
So here is what it looks like. I still have to build the rack which is the easy part, but have no doubt the receivers are mounted plenty strong. Ill update the thread tomorrow after building the rack.

Attachments

#9 ·