Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
322 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been fishing the northern beaches around Nags Head since 1975. I can't consider myself an expert because I don't live along the Carolina beaches and I am only able to fish 1 or 2 weeks
out of the year. I am a meteorologist and enjoy using my knowledge of weather and climate to fishing. For example, Spot and Blue runs on the outer banks piers are closely related to weather
conditions. About a year ago, I harvested 7 years worth of fishing reports from the Avalon Pier web site and made some graphs that show the best times to catch each species of fish. These
graphs can be found here:

http://bangladeshtornadoes.org/OuterBanks/Avalon/fishing/

Yes I know, even though my chart shows that Mullet should be running in early May at Avalon pier, this doesn't mean that you can go there any day in early May and catch Mullet. These graphs basically
allow you to increase your odds of catching a certain species of fish from piers along the Outer Banks such as Avalon, NHP Jennettes and Outer Banks. If the weather patterns in the days leading up
to your fishing day are not favorable for a certain species, then you won't catch those fish no matter what my charts show. It's similar to tornado chasing. If I pick a week to chase tornadoes In Kansas, I would pick May over July, November or January because tornadoes are not uncommon in May but are very rare in those other months. It's all about stacking the odds in your favor and there is no
certainty involved whatsoever. And as we know, fishing patterns can change from one year to the next and then change back the following year. Mullet are in greater abundance in certain years.
For example, in 2012, the Mullet bite started earlier and was great in the latter half of March. But from looking at sea surface temperature patterns, that Feb/Mar were extremely warm over the Carolinas.