Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am a NC native but will be in Marco Island this weekend and it is my first time in the area. I am staying at the Boat House Motel on the Marco River(?) and will have a car.

Going out with a guide on Saturday and 1/2 day on Sunday so I am covered there but am arriving on Friday afternoon and didn't know if there was a decent place to fish. I am bringing a 7ft Tsunami travel rod with a 4500/5500 Penn Spinfisher.

Any advice on fishing spots for 4-5 hours on Friday afternoon. Also, are there any good local restaurants for liquid refreshment and seafood?

Thanks for your time,
Jeff

·
Registered
633 Posts
So far marco island is one of my favorite places in south florida, never tried the fishing but the place is great! I hear theres great jack action there! Anyways as far as restaurants go, the best restaurant there is there is Nacho Mama's! its mexican quisine but oh boy is it good! The best fish i have ever had has been there! They have some guy singing songs and they have sports on, its a very nice place! If you do stop by you CANNOT miss their grouper! I dont know what its called but its a grouper over some mexican rice....Oh my god i would go back just for that! its delicious i tell you! I dont know where its at either, just thought i might drop in! I think you will love it! Next time if you want a change try the marriot there, its like a palace inside man!

·
Registered
506 Posts
Well, if you are doing guided fishing that's the best way to do Marco in a weekend, if you don't know the area.

There are two rods in to Marco, Collier Boulevard and San Marco Road. Both have bridges on them that will offer good fishing. When coming in from Miami we take San Marco and that will take you past a lot of mangroves where you can fish for snook, and then over the Goodland Bridge, where you can fish as well.