Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this has been highly debated, but.... All I want to know, Is Hi-Vis yellow line good to use or will fish easily see it?

·
Registered
2,617 Posts
I know this has been highly debated, but.... All I want to know, Is Hi-Vis yellow line good to use or will fish easily see it?
For most pier/surf fishing applications the Short answer is Yes.

You will be using a 4'-15' clear leader on the terminal end so the fish/bait is well away from the yellow line.

If you are fishing in an area with other fishermen it is necessary to see the lines especially at night.

If you are offshore chunking Butterfish for Tuna in clear water, I would recommend a clear line.

I am not a professional though, so perhaps Dave can send a Link...

·
Registered
948 Posts
It is highly debated. I use the hi vis lines, and low vis. Usually buy what's on sale, so may pick a color because of cost. Prefer the hi vis simply because I can see them better. I never use a leader because I worry about the fish seeing the line, but there are other very good reasons to use leaders.

IMO, most of what color line you choose boils down to confidence in what you're using. If you choose based on you having confidence you'll fish it better. Lack of confidence in any aspect of the sport can play havoc with your mind, and doubts will cause you to not concentrate on the fishing and more on "what am I doing wrong". Often, when not catching, we look for blame or excuses when there really may not be any.

I don't have that issue most of the time, but sometimes I'll be second guessing myself when things don't go as planned. Human nature.

If you really feel the line color affects your fishing, then it probably will, so choose wisely. ;)

·
Premium Member
10,102 Posts