Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm about to mag out my first sx. Is a knobby practical for fishing purposes or just mainly for tourney casting? I bought a bunch of magnets, but I'm just wondering if it's worth the extra effort to knob it out or just go static.

Also, not having had it apart yet I was wondering if anyone could tell me if the internal face of the spool is magnetic??? I realize that where you place the mags on the outer reel housing there has to be some type of media (i.e. half moon piece of metal, washer, etc.) for the magnet to stick to. But if the spool is made out of the same material how do the magnets actually slow down the spool? I'm sure this question has been addressed many times before, but if someone could humor me with explaining this again I would appreciate it, I'm just getting into heavin' seriously and still have a lot lot learn.

Thanks!

-Ryan

·
Registered
1,193 Posts
There is nothing in the Avets that is magnetic. Eiter Stainless steel, or aluminum. In order to get a good understanding of how the breaking works do a search on this forum and the distance casting forum. It has been explained in so many ways that either a joe blow fisherman can undersatand or a nasa Engineer can understand. flip through until you find the one that you can make sense out of.

I like the knobby mag on my MXL but it really does not give me much more controlability then the static. I suggest starting off with a static mag and fish it hard for a season. THe knobby is perminant so you need to make sure you will like it.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Answer to my own question

This was brought to my attention via my roommate: