Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I'm new to conventional reel. I bought a jigmaster with the red aluminum spool from ebay. I tried casting it today and got mixed result. If i tighten the screw on the left plate real tight, i was able to cast 20 meters with out the bird nest. But if i loosen the screw, even just a bit, bird nest 100% of the time. I'm happy with the result when the screw is tighten tight, but one time when i tried to cast, the crew popped out. Did i do something wrong, is that screw supposed to be tighten tightly?

Thanks,
JT.

·
Registered
4,322 Posts
I use a Jigmaster (505 HS) as a backup reel. Either remove some of the line or use a heavier line. I use 20 lb test on mine and do not fill the line to the top of the spool. This cuts down on backlashes.

The screw on the left side should not be tightened down all the way - just enough to slow the spool down a bit.

You could mag it... ;)

Sandcrab

·
Registered
3,743 Posts
NO...do not tighten it down!!! There is some thin brass in that bushing, and you can damage it! It should be adjusted so that there is only a slightly noticeable side to side "knock" in the spool when you grab it and move it from one side to the other. You can also damage the spindle for the spool. As far as it falling out...it should not do so, especially when it's tightened down. Sounds like the threads may have been stripped out...in which case, you may need a new sideplate or a new bushing (depending on which is stripped...but it's probably the sideplate).