Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am talking light tackle rods. Typical 6 foot, 1 oz., 10 lb. line stuff. Bass tackle.

When I go into most any tackle shop, you see a good number of rods like Shimano, St. Crox, and a bunch others in the $100 range.

Then, I see Loomis, and some others I am less familiar with, with $200 price tags.

Anybody got like a $100 rod and them pruchased something similar in that $200+ range?

Was it worth it? What did you get for that extra $100?

Or, do you think it is hype and status symbols?

·
Registered
4,543 Posts
DavB,

I have a couple of rods in the $100 plus range but nothing in the $200 or over range.

The two rods I have are worth the money I paid for them and I do not look for anything more expensive.

I have a St Croix 8' Tidemaster casting rod (1/2-2 oz and $130) and the Oceanmaster 12' casting rod (heaver 6-10 oz and $110). Both work great and I really do not have a need for anything pricier than them. My 8' rod doubles as a large bass/pike/musky rod in the Poconos.

·
Registered
270 Posts
Nope not worth it to me. I can catch just as few fish with my $10 stuff as I can with my $100 stuff and I bet I could catch a bunch fewer with the $300 stuff.

(Do you really think a fish can really tell the difference between the $1000 outfit and a hand tossed line and bait?)

:cool:

·
Registered
154 Posts
DavB,

You will have to decide that. I recently replaced several of my $400.00 plus fly rods
with $150.00 Temple Fork Outfitters rods and i am quite happy with them. My boat rods are
$25.00 Pinnacle and I love them. I tried a
off the rack surf rod for $65.00 and hated it. If you have a rod that you like forget
about moving up to a more expensive model.
More costly rods are typically lighter and made with better materials but will the catch more fish? I don't think so.

·
Registered
1,171 Posts