Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I've been fishing my whole life but I'm new to surf fishing with long rods and making distance casts. I'm in search of a versatile, light weight (20 pound test) setup to travel with when I go on surf trips. Here are the species and situations I would be using it for:

- winter bait fishing for surf perch in Southern and Central California
- swimbait fishing ling cod and rockfish from the rocks in Central and Northern California
- popper fishing for Roosterfish in Southern Baja
- plug and popper fishing for Jack Trevelly in Fiji and in South Pacific
- fishing Snapper (bait), Yellowtail (plugs and poppers), and Kahawai (spoons) in New Zealand

Most of the fish are between 1 lb - 20 lbs and the baits I plan on throwing are between 3/4 oz - 5 oz. I know one rod can not cover all fishing situations (I've been trying to explain that to my mother and my girlfriends for my entire life), but I'm in search a very versatile setup. I have to travel light and multiple rods is not an option. Anyone have any recommendations for such a setup,... rod blank and guides, reel (I can cast both conventional and spinning), and line (mono, spectra, pound test?). Price is not limiting factor, it would be nice to get a quailty setup.

Thanks for you time!

·
Premium Member
3,869 Posts
What length were you thinking about ?

For starters I would consider looking at a CTS surf rod rated 3-6 oz.

It is expensive- the blank retails in the neighborhood of just under $300.00
Typically $500 or so custom built.

Comes stock at 13' 6", but can be cut down to 12' 6" if desired. It is 2 equal length sections- fairly easy to travel with, but still would require a rod case in the neighborhood of 7' for serious travel.