Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Cold and nasty in the upstate today, so I have been surfing the internet on surf fishing in SC. Having read a good deal of information, it has lead to 2 questions that I feel sure the group down in the Surfside/MB area can answer. First, what are the regulations concerning a Recreational Saltwater License. I've been camping at Pirateland for the past 5 years and surf fishing there for the past 3 and have never purchased a license. Without fail someone watching or walking past has always asked me if they needed a license to fish from the beach. I always have told them no. Are you required to have a license? I went to the SCDNR website and its sorta fuzzy on the subject. I believe it stated something along the line of if your fishing within 3 nautical miles.... Second question concerns shark fishing from the surf. I know it is not allowed from the piers. I read somewhere that in Horry County it is also illegal to fish for them from the beach. Once again I was unable to either confirm or deny it. Help me out here if you can. It's no big deal to buy a license if I have to, it is certainly better than having my equipment confinscated.

·
Premium Member
3,417 Posts