Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a Shimano TR-200G conventional reel. I've never used a conventional reel before, just spinning reels - but wanted to give one a try.

Now I have it, and am clueless on how to best use it, and of course, there are no "How to" instructions.

I feel dumb asking, but figured this is a good place to ask a dumb question.

So, what's the best way to use it. What type of settings should I have with the drag/cast control knob/and the alarm "clicker"?

Should I leave my drag all the way loose until I cast, or until I get a bite, or should it stay set at the proper level the whole time?

What about the cast control knob? I assume this adds/decreases tension on the spool/reel when casting? What are the guidelines for using this?

And for the clicker - is there any functionality associated with this - or is it just for "sound" purposes only?

I've done some practice casting with it - and have created some pretty nice tangles. I know these reels require practice, but any pointers to set me in the right direction would be appreciated.

Thanks for the help (and hopefully, for not laughing at me.)

·
Registered
8,022 Posts
ropiv,I'm not familiar with th specific reel you have but here's what I figgured out thru trial an error. ;)

Th clicker,this should only be used when spike fishing,you either set th clicker on an put th reel in free spool or set th drag to what fish you are targeting.When th fish hits it an starts to run(big fish :D )th clicker sounds off.

Th cast controlknob is prolly your spool tension. This controls how fast th line comes off an greatly affects th casting. Only trial an error can tell you where it should be set.That might explain your birdnest. ;)

As far as drag on casting it dosen't matter for a conv. as your thumb is controlling th spool prior to casting since you have it in freespool.

Sorry for being longwinded an hope this helps some.

·